Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

Offensive Receiving Foul

  • philconnors
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
6 years 8 months ago #67 by philconnors
Offensive Receiving Foul was created by philconnors
I stumbled onto this video the other day.



There appears to be an offensive receiving foul at 0:24.
However some of the comments are saying that as White got the disc before the contact, that it is not a foul? Is that right for WFDF, or is that just USAU?

Note: It appears that there are some issues after this incident regarding when/if a call was made. I don't care so much about that, I just want to be clear if it is a foul or not.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 8 months ago #68 by rueben
Replied by rueben on topic Offensive Receiving Foul
This appears to be an offensive receiving foul by the white team as:
- the player in blue was entitled to be in that position
- the player in white initiated the contact
- Making a play at the disc is not valid excuse for initiating contact

This idea that it can't be a foul because the catch occurred before the contact seems to stem from the USAU Rules: XVI.H.3.b.3
"If non-incidental contact occurs in the airspace immediately above a player before the outcome of the play is determined (e.g., before possession is gained or an incomplete pass is effected), it is a foul on the player entering the vertical space of the other player."

THIS DOES NOT APPLY IN WFDF RULES, as expressed in rule 12.9:

"All players must attempt to avoid contact with other players, and there is no situation where a player may justify initiating contact. “Making a play for the disc” is not a valid excuse for initiating contact with other players."

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 7 months ago - 6 years 7 months ago #80 by Flo
Replied by Flo on topic Offensive Receiving Foul
Just to clear up USAU rules here, Rueben settled the case for WFDF.

In USAU this would not have been a receiving foul, since the contact occurred after the catch, so the outcome of the throw had already been decided.
While this is true, it would have still been an offensive foul, as the contact was clearly not incidental with the blue player getting knocked over and hindered to play defense for a second or two (my view is that the contact was initiated by white, and it was not two people vying for the same unoccupied position). End result would have been stoppage of play with the white receiver getting the disc.

Another option would have been for blue to call dangerous play, in which case it would have been a turn over unless contested (the dangerous play started the receiver left the ground, so it would have been treated as a receiving foul). The way I see it, the call would have been justified, given that white significantly collides with the head of blue, and knocks her over.

All-in-all, the only significant difference between USAU and WFDF here is the point in time when a foul stops being a receiving foul and becomes an indirect(WFDF)/general(USAU) foul. In USAU, that point in time is the time of the catch. In WFDF, the point in time is a little later, it is after the "time immediately after the catch". Rule of thumb: if the catcher could have (but did not) avoided the foul through actions after the catch, it's indirect. If there was no way the catcher could have avoided the foul through actions after the catch, it's a receiving foul.
Last edit: 6 years 7 months ago by Flo. Reason: added content
The following user(s) said Thank You: VoRTeX

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 1 month ago #234 by leapingb
Replied by leapingb on topic Offensive Receiving Foul
In this example, the following WFDF rule also applies:

15.7. Calls must be made immediately after the breach occurs.

Cheers
Greeny

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.159 seconds