(I wasn't really sure if this belongs here or under "Suggestions")
From the Continuation rule:
18.104.22.168 - If the team that called the foul or violation gains or retains possession as a result of the pass, play shall continue. Players recognizing this may call “Play on” to indicate that this rule has been invoked.
This is a change from the previous version, which read "Players recognizing this should call “Play on” immediately to indicate that this rule has been invoked."
I was just curious about the reasoning behind this change. Wouldn't it be a bit confusing if no one bothers to call "play on"? For example, The thrower calls a foul as he's releasing the disc, but a receiver, A, catches it anyways. Without calling anything, A hucks it for the score. The thing is, it's quite possible that most defenders don't even know which team called the foul (they just heard the call), so they couldn't possibly know that play should not stop.
It does not really change anything in reality, players will still call "play on". What the change does technically: It takes away all potential "violation" calls for not calling "play on".
Before, it depended on how you interpreted "should". If you interpreted it on the "may" side of calling violations, nothing has changed. If you interpreted on the "must" side, then the rule technically asked every single player on the field to call "play on" once they realized it --- and this never happened in reality, so one could have called violation every time this rule was invoked in practice.
We did want to change the rule to align with common usage, and since you can not pin the violation to a specific player if it is not called, we opted to clearly make it not a violation.
thank you for this detailed answer. I really love the explanations on why the rules comittee changes certain things.
I have a question, though: You write, that people will still call "play on". But what happens if they don´t?
Consider this scenario:
Foul on the throw. Thrower calls a foul. Disc flys perfectly to the intended receiver and is caught. A defender stops because of the foul call and because he isn´t aware that the continuation rule has been evoked. His offender plays on without calling "play on". The disc is thrown to this offender for a score. Can the defender call the disc back?
With the new rule he shure can`t. But isn´t that a bit unfair?