Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

Pick Decision Diagram - 10.2.1 referenced when disc is thrown

  • wpchen
  • wpchen's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
More
1 year 4 weeks ago - 1 year 4 weeks ago #1802 by wpchen
See attached image for quick summary of this post.
In the Pick Decision Diagram (2017), the blue box that follows { DISC THROWN > Completed YES > pick affected possession YES > CONTESTED } states:
“Players return to where they were when the call was made. Stall max 6 (10.2.1, 9.5.4)”
10.2.1. If play stops before a pass is thrown, all players must return to the location they held when the call was made.

I don't think 10.2.1 applies here since 10.2.1 only applies if play stops before a pass is thrown. In this DISC THROWN branch, I think it’s supposed to be referencing 10.2.2.1 instead.
10.2.2. If play stops after a pass is thrown, then:
10.2.2.1. if the disc is returned to the thrower, all players must return to the location they held when the thrower released the disc, or the time of the call, whichever is earlier.
Attachments:
Last edit: 1 year 4 weeks ago by wpchen.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 4 weeks ago #1804 by rueben
Thank you - that will be updated for the 2021 version.
The following user(s) said Thank You: wpchen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • wpchen
  • wpchen's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
More
1 month 3 weeks ago #1930 by wpchen
I see that 2021 version has been updated to reference 10.2.2.1 - thank you!

But, I've noticed something else that might be wrong with the same blue box (DISC THROWN > Completed YES > pick affected possession YES > CONTESTED). Currently, that blue box says "Players return to where they were when the call was made." However, 10.2.2.1 says players "must return to the location they held when the thrower released the disc, or the time of the call, whichever is earlier."

It's possible that the thrower releases the disc before the pick call is made, especially in light of 18.3.1.1 (defender may delay the pick call up to 2 seconds). If the thrower releases the disc before the pick call is made, shouldn't the players return to the location they held when the thrower released the disc, instead of when the call was made?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 month 2 weeks ago #1934 by rueben
You're correct, that situation could occur, but I don't think it's worth complicating an already fairly complicated diagram to account for that scenario.
The following user(s) said Thank You: wpchen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.113 seconds