Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

Number of players correction

  • carbohm
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
More
1 year 1 month ago #1725 by carbohm
Number of players correction was created by carbohm
The appendix says that:

B1.6. If a point has commenced and a team does not have exactly seven (7) people playing the
point, or does not have the correct gender ratio, then the opposition may call a violation
and stop play, or the infringing team may use a time-out to address the issue (as per Rule
20.4).
B1.6.1. The infringing team must choose which of their player(s) will be removed/added. If
players are being added, the opposition may make the same number of substitutions
to their team.
B1.6.2. If a violation is called, the opposition must choose either to restart play as if a timeout had been called (as per Rule 20.4), or to restart the point.
B1.6.3. If a violation of B1.6 is called after a goal has been scored and prior to the ensuing
pull, the opposition may choose to nullify the goal and restart the point.


So, imagine an scenario where team A only has 6 players on field ( and the other players are late, so there are no substitutions available). Team B has a lot of players, and in each point they use their 7 players. Team A scores a goal. According to rule B1.6.3 team B could ask for a restart of the point, but this would be highly unfair to team A, which scored even having less players. Maybe I suggest modifying B1.6.3 to be used only in case when the infringing team has MORE than 7 players, rather than "not exactly 7". Or am I missinterpreting the rules???

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 1 month ago #1727 by rueben
Replied by rueben on topic Number of players correction
Yes, Team B could call a violation and restart the point as per B.1.6.3.

But as per Rule 1.3.8, they should only call that violation if it made a difference to the outcome.

So if Team B didn't even notice, and it didn't impact the goal, then it should stand.
But if Team B was confused playing defence because they could not match up correctly, then it did affect the outcome.

However if Team B knew beforehand that Team A had the incorrect number of players, they cannot wait until the end of the point to call the violation, as per Rule 15.8.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.117 seconds