Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

Annotation 13.4 (1) inconsistent with / contradicts rule 10.5.2

  • julianbu
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
1 week 6 days ago - 1 week 6 days ago #1677 by julianbu
Hello Rueben and rest of the forum,

can you clarify the following conflict for me?


To quote the annotation/rules

13.4 Continuing play after an uncontested “stall out” (13.2.2)
The marker calling the stall out takes possession of the disc where the stall occurred and then may either:
(1) place the disc on the ground and after acknowledgment by the defense, touch the disc and loudly announce “Disc in” or
(2) retain possession and have the former thrower restart play with a check

10.5. To restart play:
10.5.1. when the thrower has the disc:
10.5.1.1. if there is a defender within reach, the defender must touch the disc.
10.5.1.2. if there is not a defender within reach, the thrower must touch the disc to the
ground and should call “Disc In”.
10.5.2. when the disc is on the ground, the defender nearest to the disc must call “Disc In”


So if the former marker decides to place the disc on the ground, there is no thrower. Thus by 10.5.2 the defense has to do the check but the annotations requires the former marker (offense) to check in the disc.

I don't understand why the check can't be performed by the defense here.

Also: Do the annotations supersede the rules or the other way around?
Last edit: 1 week 6 days ago by julianbu.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 week 6 days ago #1678 by rueben
This is an error in the annotations and will be fixed in future versions.
It was copied from the USAU Rules because we thought they were the same, but turns out they are not (however they will be the same in the 2020 USAU Rules).
The following user(s) said Thank You: julianbu

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • julianbu
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
3 days 20 hours ago - 3 days 20 hours ago #1683 by julianbu
Thanks for the answer, one thing to clarify: will only the 13.4 (1)-part about the former marker performing the check-in be changed? (i.e. the part "The marker calling the stall out takes possession of the disc where the stall occurred" remains)
or will the whole annotation be changed/scrapped?
Last edit: 3 days 20 hours ago by julianbu.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 days 8 hours ago #1686 by rueben
The only part that will change is who needs to check the disc in.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.250 seconds