13.4 Continuing play after an uncontested “stall out” (13.2.2)
The marker calling the stall out takes possession of the disc where the stall occurred and then may either:
(1) place the disc on the ground and after acknowledgment by the defense, touch the disc and loudly announce “Disc in” or
(2) retain possession and have the former thrower restart play with a check
10.5. To restart play:
10.5.1. when the thrower has the disc:
10.5.1.1. if there is a defender within reach, the defender must touch the disc.
10.5.1.2. if there is not a defender within reach, the thrower must touch the disc to the
ground and should call “Disc In”.
10.5.2. when the disc is on the ground, the defender nearest to the disc must call “Disc In”
So if the former marker decides to place the disc on the ground, there is no thrower. Thus by 10.5.2 the defense has to do the check but the annotations requires the former marker (offense) to check in the disc.
I don't understand why the check can't be performed by the defense here.
Also: Do the annotations supersede the rules or the other way around?
This is an error in the annotations and will be fixed in future versions.
It was copied from the USAU Rules because we thought they were the same, but turns out they are not (however they will be the same in the 2020 USAU Rules).
Thanks for the answer, one thing to clarify: will only the 13.4 (1)-part about the former marker performing the check-in be changed? (i.e. the part "The marker calling the stall out takes possession of the disc where the stall occurred" remains)
or will the whole annotation be changed/scrapped?