Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

double touch

  • JooLandry
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
1 year 3 months ago #1394 by JooLandry
double touch was created by JooLandry
Hi, I was answering the advance test and I really don't understand a question that I had wrong and was wandering if you could explain it to me?
thank you

If the thrower releases the disc and then taps it to a teammate before anyone else touches it, this is a turnover.

isn't did a double touch? he releases it and than taps the dics..how can't it be not a double touch? is it because he didn't have possesion?

Thank you

Julie Landry

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 3 months ago #1395 by BenjiH
Replied by BenjiH on topic double touch
Yep - the double touch rule now refers to catching the disc.

13.2.5. in attempting a pass, the thrower catches the disc after release prior to the disc being
contacted by another player (a “double touch”);


The other rule that comes close to describing this situation is:

18.2.5.6. a player purposefully bobbles, fumbles or delays the disc to themselves in order to
move in any direction


but this also doesn't make it a turnover because a) this rule only describes travels, not turnovers, and b) they are not tapping it to themselves anyway.

The name 'double touch' is now a misnomer - there was a time under previous rules that touching your own pass was a turnover, but now only catching it is.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 2 months ago #1407 by Pek538
Replied by Pek538 on topic double touch
Fyi
I read few europeans rules and there has been used both catch and touch! This may explain missunderstandings.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.151 seconds