Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

Slight Wording of Rule 12.7

  • zefrad
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
1 month 1 day ago #1789 by zefrad
Slight Wording of Rule 12.7 was created by zefrad
"12.7. The player who initiates contact is deemed to be the player who:
-12.7.1. arrived at the point of contact after the opponent had already established a position at that point (either a stationary or moving opponent), or
-12.7.2. adjusted their movements in a way that created unavoidable contact, when taking into account all players’ established position, speed and direction."

Proposed change:
"12.7.1. arrived at the point of contact after the opponent had already established a LEGITIMATE position at that point (either a stationary or moving opponent), or"

Or adjust the definition of legitimate position to also "position", or similar.
______
A group of us were chatting and we felt that their could be confusion. around this. I.e Player A saying they were fouled because they had established a position and then Player B ran into them. Whilst Player B saying they were fouled because they adjusted their movements to that position which they (B) couldn't avoid.

We could see Player A incorrectly claiming the foul because of ambiguity around position and if their position had to be legitimate to get there,
The following user(s) said Thank You: rueben

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.278 seconds