Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

Rule preventing using one's arms to prevent player movement

More
2 months 1 day ago #2264 by ab99
As far as I know, it is deemed "not acceptable" to prevent a player's movement by extending one's arms laterally. However, after searching the rules, I found no explicit mention of this. The annotation "Player positioning when the disc is in the air (12.6-12.9)" mentions that it's forbidden for a player that is not making a play for the disc to stick out their arm to impede the movement of another player, but that does not apply if both players are making a play on the disc.

Typical practical example: An attacking player A and defender B are running after a long pass. A is in front of B, but B is faster. To prevent B from reaching the disc, A extends his/her arms in a V or T shape. Since B is behind, this does not cause contact. Is this allowed ? If not, which rules explicitly prevents it ? From my understanding of the rules, if this does not cause contact, I did not find any violation/infraction breached.

Thanks !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 months 9 hours ago #2267 by rueben
12.9 Players may not use their arms or legs to obstruct the movement of opposing players.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ab99

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 month 4 days ago #2301 by lcho
Hello, I would like to ask for some additional clarification.

12.4. A player in an established position is entitled to remain in that position and must not be contacted by an opposing player.

Does 12.9 take precedence over, or apply to, 12.4? i.e. does it mean, either that I cannot stand in front of a cutter with my arms outstretched (precedence, or not considered part of an established position), or that they are not fouling me if they run through my arms (apply to, arms can't be used, so not a foul)? Which one? And if the latter, how close to the shoulder are they allowed to go, before it would be considered a foul?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 month 4 days ago #2302 by rueben
12.9 is a more specific rule that overrides 12.4 (see the introduction text: "Many of these rules are general in nature and cover most situations, however some rules cover specific situations and override the general case.").

Ideally you should call a violation if someone is using their arms to block you, and not just run through them.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 month 4 days ago #2303 by lcho
Thank you for the clarification.

Ok, so 12.9 prevails and I can't extend my arms when covering a cutter. What about the case where I am marking the thrower, and a cutter runs through my arm? Does 12.4 prevail, because extending my arms is a legal position, when marking the thrower? Or maybe the case where I see the disk coming, extend my hand to block it, and the cutter runs through my arm to get it? Does the fact that I am trying to block the disk, instead of the cutter work in my favor? 
 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.149 seconds