Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

18.2.1.1 Can a defensive player attempt a greatest from out-of-bounds area?

  • wpchen
  • wpchen's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
More
2 weeks 1 day ago #1984 by wpchen
Hello!

18.2.1.1 says that "... an in-bounds player who catches a pass while airborne may attempt a pass prior to contacting the ground." and 11.2 says that "... defensive players [...] are always considered in-bounds".

Does this mean it's possible for a defensive player to jump from an out-of-bounds area, intercept a throw, and legally throw it before they land? 

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 days 8 hours ago #1989 by rueben
The wording around that rule needs a bit of tightening up, so it's possible it could be interpreted that way. But that is not the intention of the rule.

Also worth noting that if the defence did jump from out-of-bounds, catch a pass while airborne and make a throw while still airborne - if the pass was incomplete, that would be a 'double turnover'.
The following user(s) said Thank You: wpchen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.064 seconds