Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

2021 - 13.4.1 - Stall out

  • Dem_nsk
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
More
4 months 1 week ago #1830 by Dem_nsk
2021 - 13.4.1 - Stall out was created by Dem_nsk
As i was re-watching the video with changed, i noticed something...
The outcomes of 13.4.1. (essentially a fast count) tell us to either treat it as

Accepted defensive breach (9.5.1) - Restart the stall on Stalling 1
or a contested stall-out (9.5.3) - Restart the Stalling on stalling 8

However - there is also that ->
18. 1. 3. After all marking infractions listed in 18.1.1. [Fast count included] that are not contested, the marker must resume the stall count with the number last fully uttered before the call, minus one (1).

Am I right to assume that 13.4.1., if accepted, should NOT be treated as a fast count, but rather as a foul?
I'm afraid this may create a lot of discussions and disagreements on where the stall-count should be restarted.

Maybe it should be noted that 13.4.1. does NOT fall into the category of a fast count, and should be treated differently?

Hope i made myself clear.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 months 1 week ago #1831 by rueben
Replied by rueben on topic 2021 - 13.4.1 - Stall out
Couple of points:
Marking infractions are a specific type of call that are designed to allow the marker to make a call and for the stall count to be reset without a stoppage of play. Once play has stopped, that no longer applies.
A "foul" is a breach that involves "non-minor contact" - so that could not apply to a fast count.
But a violation is applicable for any other breach.

So once play has stopped, and there is an accepted fast count, it is not applicable to reduce the stall count by 1, instead 9.5.1 applies as a an accepted breach by the defence has occurred.
The same would apply for any other marking violation called under 18.1.5.

Hope that helps.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Dem_nsk
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
More
4 months 1 week ago #1832 by Dem_nsk
Replied by Dem_nsk on topic 2021 - 13.4.1 - Stall out
Very much so!
Thank you!

I always assumed that the outcome of these infractions, if the play was actually stopped, if accepted - is reduce the count by 1 (or towards the agreed number), rather than restart the count from 1.

Thanks again for the clarification.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.103 seconds