Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

Pick calls are considered calls against whom?

  • wpchen
  • wpchen's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
More
7 months 3 weeks ago #1803 by wpchen
Scenario: As the thrower pivots, his marker tries to move with the thrower but is obstructed by a third player. The marker calls “pick”. The thrower, not having heard the call, a second later, starts his throwing motion and throws an incomplete pass. The intended receiver, who had heard the pick call and stopped, says the pick call affected possession.

Question: does the marker's pick call count as a “call against the thrower” per 16.2.1?
This is important for determining whether play stopped immediately at time of call (16.1) or after possession is established (16.2).

16.1. Whenever a foul or violation call is made, play stops immediately and no turn over is possible (unless in situations specified in 15.9, 16.2, and 16.3).
16.2. If the foul or violation:
* 16.2.1. is called against the thrower and the thrower subsequently attempts a pass, or
* 16.2.2. is called when the thrower is in the act of throwing, or
* 16.2.3. is called or occurs when the disc is in the air,
then play continues until possession has been established.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 months 3 weeks ago #1805 by rueben
Good question.
A pick is not considered a breach by the offence, so 16.2.1 would not apply.

This can be demonstrated by looking at 9.5.4 which includes 'pick' as an 'other call'.
The following user(s) said Thank You: wpchen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.093 seconds