Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

Strip Call clarification - foul before catch

  • wpchen
  • wpchen's Avatar Topic Author
  • Offline
  • New Member
  • New Member
More
10 months 17 hours ago - 10 months 17 hours ago #1786 by wpchen
17.5.1 A Strip Foul occurs when a defensive foul causes the receiver or thrower to drop the disc after they have gained possession.

Question: is it possible for a receive to argue that a defensive foul that occurred before the receiver even touches the arriving disc is a strip?

Example: receiver in the endzone is tripped by defender, then shortly after, while stumbling, receiver begins catching the disc, possesses it, but then drops it due to ground contact. In this case, can receiver argue that the foul "caused the receiver to drop the disc after they have gained possession". Generally, in my experience, this is a foul and not a strip, but the wording of 17.5.1 suggests the foul could occur before the receiver attempts the catch and still be called a strip.

Thanks!
Last edit: 10 months 17 hours ago by wpchen.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 months 11 hours ago #1787 by rueben
Yes, this could be considered a strip foul.
The following user(s) said Thank You: wpchen

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.100 seconds