Rules of Ultimate governed by the World Flying Disc Federation

Continuation after a "down" call

  • sebagaliaz
  • Topic Author
  • Offline
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
3 months 4 weeks ago - 3 months 4 weeks ago #1543 by sebagaliaz
Continuation after a "down" call was created by sebagaliaz
Scenario: player A passes the disc to player B.A "down" call is called on player B's catch.
B then attempts a pass to player C who drops the disc.


Assuming that the play (B throws to C) has not been affected by the call and the Down call is contested is it a turnover?
According to 13.12 the result of the play could not be a turnover. Is that correct?

Despite this the situation is not very clear considering the different way of dealing with a similar call, such as stall out call.
The decision diagrams address consistently the situation of the continuation after stall out and travel calls, but do not so with down and out-of-bounds calls.
Thanks
Last edit: 3 months 4 weeks ago by sebagaliaz. Reason: Make it clearer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 months 3 weeks ago #1546 by rueben
Replied by rueben on topic Continuation after a "down" call
13.12 does not apply, as that is about an uncontested turnover that has occurred, but has not been recognised by all players.

The rules are not perfectly clear about this (this will be corrected in the next update), but in keeping with the spirit of rule 16.3, 1.3.8 and 1.2, if the "down" call did not affect any player involved, then the turnover by player C should stand.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.146 seconds